Concealed Carry Topics
Concealed Carry Information
NMDPS Concealed Carry Unit
6301 Indian School Rd NE Ste. 310
Albuquerque, NM 87110
Send questions to: Suzanne.Skasik@state.nm.us
ATTENTION INSTRUCTORS and Licensees:
If a licensee chooses to add/change a category/caliber of handgun at the time of his two year refresher, you need to provide the licensee a separate Certificate of Successful Completion (in addition to the refresher form you send the CCU). The Certificate needs to be submitted to us (by the licensee) with the Replacement Card Application, the $5.00 fee and any other associated documents. Processing and paperwork for adding an endorsement are separate from that of the two year refresher. This is the only way the CCU will accept paperwork to add/change an endorsement.
Fingerprint Submission Information
The NMDPS Law Enforcement Records Bureau has ongoing classes for Basic Fingerprinting. Anyone, especially instructors, interested in attending a fingerprint class please contact firstname.lastname@example.org. The subject matter includes Fingerprint Pattern Identification (identifying the necessary focal points) and Rolled Fingerprints (hands on fingerprinting). I strongly encourage your attendance at this training. The CCU has one of the highest reject rates (from the FBI) due to poor quality fingerprints- which is a great disservice to your students. Rejections lead to lengthy delays in background processing. Classes are typically held at the NM Law Enforcement Academy in Santa Fe.
Sgt. S. Skasik
Concealed Handguns in Certain Licensed Liquor Establishments
Amends §30-7-3 to allow persons to carry a concealed handgun in a restaurant licensed to sell only beer and wine that derives no less than 60% of its annual gross receipts from the sale of food for consumption on the premises, unless the restaurant has a sign posted prohibiting the carrying of firearms, or the person is verbally instructed by the owner or manager that the carrying of a firearm is not permitted in the restaurant. Read the Law.
Information Concerning the Carrying of Concealed Weapons
Instructors continue to be approved by the Department of Public Safety. A list of the approved names and contact information is updated as new instructors are added and is available at the link below. These and only these instructors have been approved to teach the statutorily required courses. Applicants are cautioned to take courses offered only by the listed approved instructors. Any other type of course will not be accepted for purposes of concealed handgun licensing.Applicants for a concealed carry handgun license must be U.S. citizens and residents of New Mexico. You must be at least 21 years old and must not have been convicted of a felony or crimes involving domestic violence and other misdemeanors as outlined in the Act. You must provide State of New Mexico identification and fingerprint cards for background checks. Applicants must read and comply with the statute and administrative rules. You must also submit all completed forms and authorizations with payment of fees.
Instructors approved by the department will not be required to attend a firearms course for purposes of licensure to carry a concealed handgun. Applications to instruct will be reviewed by the Concealed Carry Unit who will make the final determination of approval or denial. Instructors will provide applicants the course work required by the Act which must include classroom, firing range instruction and a demonstrated ability by the applicant to safely use a handgun. Section 29-19-6 of the Statute explains the required hours for an initial, refresher, and renewal of a license. A licensee will only be allowed to carry one concealed handgun on their person at a time. Instructors must file a copy of their course description and proof of instructor credentials with the Department of Public Safety Concealed Carry Unit.
Applications may be requested from State Police District Offices or may be downloaded from the link below. Please read the statute and the rules before completing the application and required release forms. All required forms and documents must accompany the application.
Concealed Handgun Carry Act of 2005
- Reciprocity Agreements
- Change to 30-7-3 NMSA 1978 UNLAWFUL CARRYING OF A FIREARM IN LICENSED LIQUOR ESTABLISHMENTS (Effective July 1, 2007)
- Concealed Carry Statutes, Rules and Regulations
- Instructions, Application and Release Forms
- Concealed Carry License Replacement Card Application
- Authorization for release of information form
- Authorization for release of health information form (All licensee applicants must submit this form)
- List of approved Concealed Carry Instructors
Example of Concealed Carry License
Read all associated materials prior to completing the application